(◕‿◕✿)Harvest Time June 2013✿

Harvest TimeGreen Peppers 2013<a
Avocado Trees
In this day and age of technology, wanting more for less and faster. I am grateful to have grown up in a simpler time, but have also succumbed to technology. The importance of Nature is that it grounds you, it enables you to see the beauty of our world and it is good for your health, sunshine, and exercise. I still enjoy the sound of the screen door as I walk out to garden or tend the flower beds reminiscent of times past. Anyone can find their solace in the outdoors you have to give it time and make it a habit.

One thing about having a Garden is you always look forward to the 1st harvest, sometimes it doesn’t seem to come fast enough depending on when you planted your crops and if they were from seed or larger plants or what area “zone” you live in.

We enjoyed Fresh Swiss Chard, tomatoes, Romaine Lettuce, and a green pepper yesterday right off the vine. The great thing about having a garden is it comes right from your backyard to your plate after washing off. I had a nice salad for lunch and then we made homemade pizza fresh dough, with some of the fresh tomatoes, green peppers and turkey pepperoni. Nothing taste better than fresh. http://wp.me/a3gGrf-gP

I transplanted some of my avocados trees into pots and a few in the ground to see how they would do. I also transplanted my small lemon trees all I started from seed and glad to see that I have 3 of them. Eating for health is something we all need to do, it not only helps your immune system but it invigorates you and gives you more energy as you age gracefully and is great for your skin.

I used to sprout my own seeds years ago, and now will get back to doing so, since it is always great to have in a salad or in a sandwich, it gives it that extra crunch and so good for you. These are easy instructions to follow: http://www.theprairiehomestead.com/2010/12/starting-with-sprouting.html

I love avocados even more now that I found out this health information. I usually have a half of one in my salad daily: http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-9744/11-fun-facts-about-avocados.html

Since my husband loves to build things when he is not working I have come up with a great solution something I would love for my birthday. =) Easy plans for a greenhouse something I think would fit just fine in our yard and maybe yours too but you will have to get your builder =): http://www.realfarmacy.com/how-to-build-a-greenhouse-for-150/

I ran across this little gem to share with you on Mother Earth News, 40 ways to boost garden yield: http://www.motherearthnews.com/organic-gardening/gardening-tips-zm0z11zsto.aspx#axzz2XEX4Ysmw

ƸӜƷ~Until next time~Happy Gardening~ƸӜƷ

“Everybody needs beauty as well as bread, places to play in and pray in, where nature may heal and give strength to body and soul.” John Muir~ƸӜƷ

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, therefore, is not an act but a habit.” Aristotle~ƸӜƷ

Leave a Reply

