July Heat Wave and Wrenched Wrists☮ ❤ ☼

DSCN5405Bike Ride meDSCN5407DSCN5319DSCN5300998168_10200391026310751_1204634368_n

It started out to be a wonderful Sunny ☼ Day perfect for a nice Bicycle Ride with my hubby, but unfortunately I fell off my bike as I tried to go up a small curb. It is much different when you are almost 57 then when you are 5 years old, it definitely seems longer to heal. Things like this always seem to happen in slow motion when you are falling and it appears at that point you are wishing you didn’t try to go up that curb or whatever it was that you were trying at the time. I am going into 2nd week of wrenched wrists and got a little banged up but am thankful it wasn’t worse. Things you take for granted, like brushing your hair and getting dressed. I wasn’t embarrassed until I got back from the orthopaedic doctor to realize there was a huge knot in the back of my hair, oh well. Lesson learned if it looks too high don’t risk it to try to go over it. I was a surfer, took chances, but now I am finding I am being a bit more careful nowadays. I will ride my bike again but no dare-devil stuff as my grown kids say. Lol.

We have been hit with a heat wave this July straight temps this week good time to be inside in a/c or swimming. My granddaughters both had birthdays in July so it ended being a good present from us of a swimming pool. When you go to water your garden, it is best to go out early to water or late afternoon. We have it set up so our well water is hooked up to an elevated sprinkler so it gets all the garden in the afternoon. In this heat it is important to make sure you water your plants and vegetables especially in a heat wave, but make sure you don’t do it in the middle of the day it will shock them.

Here is a DIY planter Water Reservoir: http://dabbletree.vrya.net/content.php?p=22

I have this week been able to get out and get some produce and today I am making a delicious homemade vegetable soup recipe with the items from our garden, it is a great immune booster and so healthy for your body. I was also able to use some other veggies we had leftover from this weeks dinner. I started with an organic Vegetable broth and have added in onions, carrots, tomatoes, squash, spinach, broccoli, cauliflower, noodles, celery, basil, green beans.

I found this to be helpful information on what plants and flowers that help deter mosquitos: video from WVEC TV: http://www.wvec.com/my-city/norfolk/MOSQUITO-REPELLENT-PLANTS-214623671.html

With our beloved pets, we have to keep in mind during this heat to bring them inside make sure they have plenty of water. Don’t leave your animals in an enclosed vehicle.

The human spirit needs places where nature has not been rearranged by the hand of man. ~Author Unknown

Happy Gardening til next time~☮ ❤ ☼

Leave a Reply

