✿.•Gratitude Today and Gardening .•✿

DSCN54081001030_538881236167493_1836032516_n1075829_480711045337109_1758903473_nDSCN5401
I fell off my bicycle almost 4 weeks ago, yesterday I had the inaugural ride and it felt a little scary and unsure at first. I decided to ride with my dorky helmet and that is was better to be safe than sorry. I was watching for every gravelled area and going around every fallen pine cone. It reminded me of being a kid again, once you got back on and rode again it was a little scary but got better as time when on. It felt good, and I am glad I got back up on that horse as some would say. I had my best friend which is my hubby riding along beside me as we both rode a little slower this time. I think it may take a few more times before I venture out alone again to bring up my confidence. I had my arm brace on just for safety since it is almost healed now.

I love this idea to recycle pallets to a raised garden bed and looks so easy.  You find these all over the place being thrown out so instead of buying one and very creative.  We have a lovely garden spider who controls some of the bugs in the garden. I had a surprise of a beautiful web as I was harvesting. When we have gone out to our garden to fetch our produce we have noticed some of those small bugs that are nuisance and like our squash and cucumber plants have come back this year they are hidden under the leaves so for those that have that problem as well here is a nice article and a home remedy natural way to fight them off: http://wellnessmama.com/2524/organic-gardening-natural-pest-prevention-and-control/

Gardening is always a learning process and here is a nice reference article from Mother Earth News on Garden Management: http://www.motherearthnews.com/organic-gardening/garden-management-summer-garden-zmaz09jjzraw.aspx#axzz2adZDvJO7

If you happen to have an over abundance of vegetables here is a nice article on how to freeze your fresh veggies: http://www.homesteadsurvivalist.com/2013/05/5-step-to-freeze-fresh-vegetables-from.html

Don’t be afraid to try new vegetables as we will have our fall planting soon coming up. Remember it is good to start to condition your soil and keep turning in your compost as well as your coffee grounds.

When we dig out our summer crops as they are slowing down and put in our fall crops here is a great link to fall crops planting times and what to plant per area: http://www.southernstates.com/articles/winter-vegetables.aspx

This chart helps and shows what to plant during what months and a good reference for any gardener: http://pubs.ext.vt.edu/426/426-331/426-331_pdf.pdf

When Available Chart: This is good if you buy produce at the local farmers markets this shows when it is in season and we all know fruits and veggies taste best if in season: http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/vagrown/pdf/producechart.pdf

The best place to find God is in a Garden. you can dig for him there. George Bernard Shaw~

Look deep into nature, and then you will understand everything better. Albert Einstein~

❀❀❀Until Next Time Happy Gardening~!❀❀❀

Leave a Reply

